Sweet Cooking

Making the world a better place – one cookie at a time!

In Cookies on March 23, 2010 at 1:56 pm

I recently made my first “fancy cookie”. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I followed a recipe from Food and Wine – almost exactly – and the result was 18 amazing little chocolate chip cookie sandwiches. The filling is chocolate ganache which really is just a fancy way of saying icing. The cookies are the perfect balance of nutty and sweet, and the ganache brings it all together.

My only change to the recipe was in the ganache. I added an extra tablespoon of creme fraiche, and I used 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I don’t have a kitchen scale (must get one asap), so I just guessed on that. I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips for the cookies and the ganache.

Be liberal with the ganache!

Here is the recipe: ganache stuffed chocolate chip cookies. I’ve made 2 batches of these little delights, some went into the freezer and the rest were given to friends. The ones that were frozen thawed easily and tasted just as good as the non-frozen cookies!

  1. These cookies are absolutely delicious. I have not made them yet, but LaVon shared two with me. After reading her blog re: salads, I would suggest one of these cookies at about 3:00 PM on a day you have had a salad for lunch!

Leave a Reply

