Sweet Cooking

Lunch Time

In Lunch on March 24, 2010 at 10:10 am

I recently put up my briefcase and black pumps and quit my job! When I worked in an office, I ran out at 1PM, ordered a side salad and small soup and then ate at a ravenous pace at my desk. Now that I’m at home more, I have the opportunity to make a healthy lunch and enjoy it at a normal speed. I try to make a lunch that will last a few days and be filling enough to keep me from snacking before dinner. So, in this blog, I’ll post some of my more successful lunches. After all, we can’t just eat cookies all the time.

This is “My Dad’s Turkey Chili” by Jenny Levison (aka Souper Jenny). Jenny is a b-list celebrity in Atlanta, Georgia, where she owns a very successful restaurant/cafe. The chili is a staple on her menu, and I’ve made it several times. There are several awesome things about this chili:

1. It is very tasty and relatively healthy

2. It makes a ton so you can enjoy half and freeze half or serve it all to a crowd

3. You can add all types of toppings or throw it on a baked potato for an even heartier meal

You can find the recipe in Jenny’s cookbook or here! If you like a lot of spice, increase the amount of hot sauce and chili powder. I do!

Top with cheese, jalapenos, sour cream or crackers.

  1. […] (okay, twice), and use the weekends to make something that I can freeze. I recently made a batch of My Dad’s Turkey Chili, and it’s been lunch all week. It’s so nice to be able to pull something out of the […]

Leave a Reply

