Sweet Cooking

These Cupcakes Are Ridiculous!!

In Cakes & Cupcakes on March 24, 2010 at 9:50 am

I got married last year and a friend gave me one of the Barefoot Contessa cookbooks (or I should say, she gave it to us – not as though my husband would ever cook!). Flipping through the cookbook is so much fun. I love to look at new recipes and photos of great food. Anyway, I’ve heard people rave about Ina’s chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing. I stumbled upon the recipe and decided to give it a try. They are like heaven. I could eat 2 in one sitting for sure. I took them to a birthday party, and I wish I had just kept them for myself. They are easy too. The peanut butter icing puts this one over the top for me (I love peanut butter), but I think the cakes would be good with any type of frosting.

Delicious!

The perfect combo of chocolate and peanut butter.

The cookbook is Barefoot Contessa At Home by Ina Garten. I followed the recipe except the brewed coffee. I didn’t have any, so I substituted water. I don’t think the cupcakes were negatively impacted, but I’d like to try again with the coffee. I used Jif peanut butter (low fat) for the icing – I wouldn’t use any of the all-natural butters for this recipe. The texture would be awful, I think. These little cakes would be beautiful with chopped peanuts sprinkled on top too!

  1. My daughter has inspired me to try these lovely cupcakes. I am going to make them for my grandson, Billy, who loves peanut butter more than his aunt.

Leave a Reply

