Sweet Cooking

Extra Oranges? Make Biscotti.

In Cookies on March 25, 2010 at 9:13 am

In Manhattan, there is a great on-line grocery store called “Fresh Direct”. I’ve had mixed experiences ordering produce and meats, but I love it for dry goods. They deliver directly to your door, and that beats schlepping around in the snow with a case of paper towels any day. I probably place an order every few weeks. Well, the last box I opened contained 6 blood oranges! I didn’t order them, they were part of a promotion encouraging customers to order foods that are in season (December through March).

So, I ate one orange, sectioned one and put it in a salad and still had four sitting in the refrigerator. I did some on-line recipe browsing and decided to make biscotti with the extra oranges. Biscotti is an Italian twice-baked cookie. I have never  made biscotti before, so I wasn’t sure how difficult this would be.

I chose a recipe from Fine Cooking called “Triple Orange Pecan Biscotti”. The recipe doesn’t specify what type of orange to use, so I assumed that the blood oranges would be fine (they were). Making the dough – no problem. I didn’t have any orange liqueur around, so I increased the amount of orange juice. Rolling it out was easy too. My mistake was actually in the baking. The ends of my dough got a little too done, and when I tried to cut them they crumbled into a million pieces. Obviously, I had to throw those pieces out. This recipe makes a TON of biscotti. I wasn’t at all upset about losing the ends.

I dipped the biscotti in some melted white chocolate and let it harden in the refrigerator. Overall, I really liked the biscotti, but it is a lot of work. I’m not sure I would try this recipe again, but I might try a different biscotti. Maybe one with chocolate and cherries – yummy!!

This blood orange was the inspiration.

Perfect coffee companion (the dog and the biscotti)

Triple Orange Pecan Biscotti Dipped in White Chocolate

Leave a Reply

