Sweet Cooking

A Twist on Chicken Salad

In Lunch on March 29, 2010 at 2:38 pm

In general, I do not like to eat chicken. I have read too many books and seen too many Dateline exposés about the way chickens are farmed. It’s a really disgusting thing. I almost gagged the last time I roasted a whole bird. I find that if you just deal with the breasts, it seems less chicken-y, so I buy a lot of organic, antibiotic and hormone free, humanely raised chicken breasts. I prefer to buy these from a local farmer who has a stand at the Union Square Greenmarket. I think if you can actually meet the farmer (or one of his/her employees), it’s likely that he/she is not part of the industrialized food industry that is making all of us sick and contaminating our food. Sorry about the soap box here. Watch the first 30 minutes of Food, Inc. and you’ll never eat chicken again.

Nevertheless, chicken (that has raised in an old-fashioned farm kind of way) can be a good source of lean protein, and my husband likes it, so I make it. This week for lunch, I’m having Cantaloupe-Chicken Salad Sandwiches with Creamy Tarragon Dressing. This is a recipe from Cooking Light that I adapted. The biggest change is no mayo. I substituted Greek yogurt instead. I think the results are delicious. The little bites of cantaloupe are a great surprise, and it’s not very chicken-y (which I like). Here is the recipe as I made it:

1/4 cup sliced green onions

1/4 cup 0% Fage yogurt (if you are a mayo person, by all means, sub equal amount of mayo here)

2 T champagne vinegar

1 T minced fresh tarragon

2 cups cooked chicken breast (diced into 1/2″ cubes)

1 1/2 cups cantaloupe (diced)

1/2 cup chopped celery

mixed salad greens

salt and pepper

whole wheat pitas

1. Combine first 4 ingredients in a bowl and whisk together. Season with salt and pepper. Add chicken, cantaloupe, and celery. Stir gently. Cover and chill for 30 minutes.

2. Take a pita, cut it in half, and stuff each half with salad greens and 1/3 cup of chicken salad mixture. Two stuffed pita halves = one serving. Serve with baby carrots, grapes, sliced tomato, etc.

So easy! The Cooking Light nutrition facts say that one serving is 262 calories. I am not sure what it would be with the yogurt instead of mayo, probably not a big difference, but yogurt is definitely better for you than mayo!

Cantaloupe Chicken Salad stuffed in a pita

Leave a Reply

