Sweet Cooking

A Sandwich for My Dad

In Just Good Food on March 30, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Today is my dad’s birthday, and I thought of him this morning when I decided what I should post today. My dad can smoke a mean turkey and scramble a good egg, but other than that, he has very little culinary skills. When his wife goes out of town, he survives on charity from friends, popcorn, and his two favorite sandwiches:

1. Peanut butter and jelly

2. Banana and mayonnaise

So, when I came across this sandwich called “Peanut Butter Plus”  I immediately thought of him. It’s the best of both worlds….creamy peanut butter plus banana and a few other good things! I think this sandwich is amazing. It’s made with staple ingredients that are always on hand. It’s great for a hearty breakfast, lunch or light dinner. I also think kids would like it.

You can find the recipe here. I followed everything exactly. I like the sunflower seeds, but if you don’t have them, just use crunchy peanut butter. The raisins are okay in there, but if left out I don’t think you’d miss them. I toasted my bread. Enjoy!

This sandwich is made with pantry staples

This photo does not do this delicious spread justice

Peanut butter plus sandwich

  1. Thanks, that will be my next culinary endeavor!!! Keep up the good work.. Dad.

Leave a Reply

