Sweet Cooking

Headed to Las Vegas!

In Cakes & Cupcakes on April 1, 2010 at 8:49 am

My husband and I are leaving NYC today and going to meet friends in Las Vegas for a long weekend. As a result, I’ve had luck and money on my mind! I am a frugal gambler. I like to sit at the $15 black jack table and if I win/lose two hands in a row, I cash out. It’s ridiculous! I love Vegas, though. It’s fun for a long weekend – fabulous weather, great food, fun pools, and good friends.  I’ll blog next week about our meals there. We are dining at SW Steak and Sinatra’s. We’ll probably go to Bouchon Bakery for breakfast one day too (my favorite).

Anyway….as I mentioned, I’ve had money on my mind. I was looking for something to bake that would go with the Vegas theme. I thought about whipping up some good hangover food, but decided to bake Southern Living’s Million Dollar Pound Cake instead. It’s been a zillion years since I’ve made a pound cake. I forgot how delicious they are. I made this guy, and sliced it up and put it in the freezer. I think I’ll serve it with fresh fruit when we have friends over next week.

I followed Southern Living’s recipe exactly. I used a hand mixer, unsalted butter, and I had my eggs, milk and butter at room temperature before I started. I may not make a million dollars this weekend, but hey, no harm in hoping right? I just hope to break even!

Try not to focus on all the butter.

Ready to go into the oven.

Just a little while later....Voila!

Million Dollar Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

