Sweet Cooking

Lunch Time

In Lunch on April 6, 2010 at 6:02 pm

It's as good as it looks!

I wanted to do a lunch this week that wasn’t a sandwich, soup or salad. It’s too hot for soup and salads usually don’t fill me up. I end up eating a giant cookie at 3PM when I eat a salad for lunch. Sandwiches are great, but I don’t know, I just wanted to do something else. So, I came across a recipe for barley and vegetables. It’s kind of a salad…but there is no lettuce….hence therefore in my mind, not a salad.

The recipe is from Cooking Light. You can find it here. I made it as instructed (except I used store purchased chicken stock). I think it’s really great. The feta cheese is just perfect with the barley, and I love the chewiness (is that a word?) of the grain. When I make this again, I think I’ll use 1/2 the onion. It’s good warm or cold. And, it photographs so well! This is my favorite photo I’ve taken thus far.

  1. that looks delicious! i am going to make that one night for my clients. simple and fresh.

Leave a Reply

