Sweet Cooking

Lovely Summer Salad

In Lunch on April 12, 2010 at 1:57 pm

For those of you who have been reading, I wanted to give you a quick update on the Master’s Party. All the food was a big hit. My non-southern friends who attended had never experienced pimento cheese or cheese wafer-puffs. One of the guests thought that the cheese wafer was a peanut butter cookie! He was clearly surprised (while at the same time delighted) at the first bite. We had a great time and the Masters was a fun tournament to watch. I’m happy for Phil!

I made a great salad for lunch this week. It’s a recipe from Cooking Light called “Lemon-Splashed Shrimp Salad“.

Isn't it pretty!

I followed the recipe pretty closely. I didn’t measure the chopped items, but I think I got it about right. I used small shell pasta instead of corkscrew. I actually like the way the shells scoop up some of the smaller diced celery and pepper. It’s like a little treat in your pasta. Now, if you don’t like poblano peppers, you can use a regular green or red bell pepper. Also, the lemon flavor is there, but it doesn’t overpower the dish at all. I did add some fresh pepper at the end just because I like a lot of seasoning.

This salad would be great at a Mother’s Day lunch! I don’t usually drink at lunch, but if I did, I would definitely pair this salad with a crisp white wine. Maybe a chablis or a really dry rosĂ©. Cooking Light suggests sauvignon blanc, and that would be fine too. And if you got in pinch, a Corona Light or glass of pinot noir would probably do the trick!

Only 250 calories per serving. Eat two!

  1. what a great looking lunch. love the wine suggestions, thanks.

Leave a Reply

