Sweet Cooking

Guess What’s Inside

In Muffins, Savory Baked Goods on April 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm

There is something delicious stuffed in here!

I had some pimento cheese sandwiches leftover from the Masters party. I was close to throwing them out, but I really hated to let all of that goodness go to waste. So, I tried a little reinvention. I actually scraped the pimento cheese spread off of all the leftover sandwiches and  stuffed it right inside the biscuit dough pictured above. Oh my god, I am so glad I did.

I found a Southern Living recipe in my old recipe files called “Pimento Cheese Rolls.” This recipe is so old that it’s not even on the Internet. And it’s super easy if you already have the pimento cheese made. Basically, buy some refrigerated biscuit dough. I bought “Layered Cream Cheese Biscuits”  by the Robinhood Free Meetinghouse at Whole Foods. The Robinhood Free Meetinghouse is evidently a fancy restaurant on the coast of Maine. Pick the dough you like – any dough should work.

Here are the steps to make Pimento Cheese Rolls:

I used a 16 oz package of dough (6 biscuits) and 1 cup of pimento cheese spread.

1. Take the biscuits out of the package and let them soften on a lightly floured surface for 40 minutes or so. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Flour your hands and combine all the biscuits to make one piece of dough. I squished all of the dough together to form a ball.

3. Using a rolling pin, roll the dough out into a rectangle and spread the pimento cheese evenly on top.

4. Now, roll it up starting at one end until you have a little log of dough (as seen in the photo above)

5. Slice the rolled up dough into sections (about 1 inch thick) and put them in a greased muffin pan (see photo below).

Ready to go into the oven.

6. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown. Let them cool in the pan for a little while and then remove them.

This recipe yields 8 muffins.

The perfect pimento cheese muffin!

I have to say, these are absolutely fantastic. I truly hate that I’ve lived for 34 years without having one of these. You should run to the store and get everything to make these little delights asap. Buy the pimento cheese if you need to! Do not deprive yourself for one more day!

I could go on and on....

  1. LaVon ,they do look real yummy,!! Richie

  2. LaVon, you are right- these are amazing! My Nanny passed along her secret pimento cheese recipe to me and although I make it a lot we have never tried it on anything other than sandwiches and ritz crackers. This recipe is a keeper for sure! I made them last night and Jay and I both thought they were out of this world. Thanks for sharing this with us. Kathleen

    • I’m so glad you liked the pimento cheese rolls! Can I convince you to share the secret recipe you have for pimento cheese????

  3. This looks wonderful I cannot wait to try it out..

  4. It’s late and I am tired, but I had to agree with you about how good these rolls are! I have never liked pimento cheese, and I confess I would have never tried them if not for one of my friends who insisted we make them today for a little party we were hosting. She made her own pimento cheese using medium cheddar cheese that she grated, Dukes mayonnaise(not light or fat free)and a jar of chopped pimentos(including the juice).She used “Mary B’s” frozen biscuits for the dough. Everyone at the party had a fit over these biscuits/rolls/muffins. They would be great with Chili on a cold winter night, or good with eggs for breakfast. They were definitely good with red wine at five o’clock!! Thanks for another good idea. Mom

Leave a Reply

