Sweet Cooking

An Easy Appetizer to Start the Weekend

In Bread, Spreads on April 16, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Remember that extra baguette dough I put in the freezer (if not, see my post “Baguette makes Banh Mi”)? I pulled it out and decided to use it to make an easy appetizer. I took a long hard look at that frozen dough and said screw it. I didn’t have the patience to let the frozen dough defrost and rise and then cover myself in flour again. I went to the green market and bought a baguette instead.

Ummmm....this makes my homemade baguette look like a joke.

By the time Friday rolls around, I want a big glass of wine and an easy, delicious treat. Today I decided on bruschetta with herbed goat cheese. It doesn’t get much easier than this:

LaVon’s Bruschetta with Herbed Goat Cheese

1. Buy a baguette and cut it into 1″ slices, brush the slices with just a little bit of olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. Broil for a minute or so until the bread is lightly toasted.

It just takes a minute or so to toast up! Don't let them burn.

2. Take 1/2 lb. of fresh goat cheese and add 3 teaspoons of your favorite chopped fresh herb (basil, rosemary, thyme, oregano – whatever you prefer). I used basil today.

3. Add about 2 tablespoons of olive oil to the cheese and herb mixture. Combine until well-blended.

It should look like this.

4. Put the cheese mixture in a small, oven-safe dish. Drizzle it with just a little more olive oil and give it a little dusting of freshly ground pepper.

5. Bake the cheese at 350° until it’s warm and creamy – about 10 minutes.

The edges will be bubbly when it's ready.

6. Remove the cheese from the oven and spread onto the toasted baguette slices.

Herbed goat cheese spread with toasted baguette.

7. Enjoy the bruschetta with a glass of wine and your favorite friend and ease in to the weekend.

Have a great weekend everyone. Hope to “see” you back on Monday!

  1. that looks so damn good, i have all the ingredients in the fridge, end pieces of a baguette i used for a sandwich today. making it tonight!

  2. Enjoy! I sure did. Couldn’t stop at just one (or two).

  3. La Von, I love your blog. What is your new job?
    Luanne

  4. I love this. It is so easy and your right Friday a glass of wine and an easy appetizer. BTW i love this blog, Linda sent it to me. I’m Carl’s sister.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! I am having a lot of fun with the blog. Let me know if you have any requests or great recipes I should try!

  5. i dont cook, but this i will definitely try! keep these awesome recipes coming! thanks LaVon

    • Lizete – anyone can make this appetizer. Even people that don’t cook. You should give it a try!!

Leave a Reply

