Sweet Cooking

Breakfast at The Beach

In breakfast on April 19, 2010 at 6:08 pm

We spent the weekend in Westhampton Beach at our “little beach shack.” We all had a fantastic time. Chance included.

Chance enjoying the day at Westhampton Beach.

On Sunday morning, I made blueberry pancakes from scratch. I followed a recipe that I received from Tasting Table. Tasting Table is an on-line newsletter dedicated to restaurant and food news. From time to time, a restaurant recipe is  featured, and that’s how I decided to make pancakes. The recipe for “Light and Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes” from The Blue Ribbon Cookbook just spoke to me. I knew I had to make these pancakes.

Sign up to receive Tasting Table at http://www.tastingtable.com. It's free!

I followed the recipe exactly for the most part. I added about a cup of blueberries to the batter at the very end. I was very particular about NOT over mixing the batter. Even though it upsets the perfectionist in me, I left the batter full of lumps. The recipe says to melt the butter over medium-high heat, but I chose medium to medium-low. I prefer lightly browned pancakes. You know they are ready to flip when the edges start to bubble (as shown below).

Just about ready to flip.

You must constantly attend the pancakes. Do no step away. Even to see a family of deer or flock of geese landing in your yard. The pancakes will burn and turn into a smoky, smelly mess. Cue the fire alarm. Luckily this recipe makes a boat load of pancakes, so if you burn a few, no harm done.

Light and Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes

My husband declared these pancakes "damn good." I agree.

  1. dan’s a lucky man!

  2. and evidently a hungry man!

  3. No one loves pancakes more than me, and your picture had me wanting to reach into the computer and take a bite. Yours look much tastier than the ones in the original recipe.(I think they “burnt” theirs). If you are ever in a pinch and do not have fresh blueberries, frozen ones can also be added at the last minute.

Leave a Reply

