Sweet Cooking

Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

In Lunch on April 20, 2010 at 5:21 pm

I’ve been going to the gym pretty religiously over the last several weeks, and I’ve been doing some pretty intense workouts. When I exercise like a maniac, I am hungry all the time. Literally ALL of the time. I could leave the gym and consume an entire pizza, but that’s obviously not the point. So, when I get home from the gym, I am ready to ravenously consume a hearty (yet healthy) lunch.

This week I made Cooking Light’s Mediterranean Turkey Burgers.

Those little white chunks are feta cheese. Brilliant!

They are tasty, quick and filling. The recipe makes four servings so you have lunch for most of the work week. I prepare all of the patties at once and wrap them individually. I freeze them if it’s going to be a few days before I eat them. Otherwise, they are fine in the refrigerator. Then I cook the burgers individually on a grill pan when I’m ready.

Grill for 6-7 minutes on each side.

I pretty much followed the recipe as instructed. I opted to put my burgers in toasted whole wheat english muffins rather than a pita, and I used hummus as a  spread on the muffin. Usually, I think turkey burgers are kind of weak – they just don’t pack the same flavor as beef. I like this recipe because the pesto, red onion and feta give the burger a lot of character.

Mediterranean turkey burger topped with arugula and hummus on an english muffin.

Enjoy the burger with fresh cut veggies, sweet potato chips or a salad  (or a slice of pizza if you’re still starving). Deelish!

Leave a Reply

