Sweet Cooking

A “Cake” for My Mom on Her Birthday

In Just Good Food on April 21, 2010 at 4:35 pm

I thought a lot about what kind of cake my mom would like on her birthday. She loves all kinds of cakes (really, I can’t think of a cake she wouldn’t enjoy). But her all time favorite “cake” is crab cake. She came to visit us last summer at the beach, and had crab cakes for lunch 3 days in a row. We ate at different restaurants and each time she would review the menu and say, “I just have to try their crab cake.” I think she could eat them every day! So, in honor of her birthday, I made crab cakes for the very first time.

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Over all, I think it was a success. The taste was great, lots of crab and just a little filler. The rémoulade was very tasty. My husband and I ate them with gusto and I got some nice reviews from him. I’m not 100% satisfied though because I thought that the cakes should have stuck together a little more. I was imagining a perfect little circle of lightly fried crab, and it just wasn’t so. There were jagged little pieces of crab sticking out everywhere. They looked like crab cakes that had just gotten out of bed.

The little pieces of crab sticking out everywhere drive me nuts.

I was petrified as I was handling and flipping them that they would fall apart. A few of them did a little. I wonder if I should have used another egg white (for any of you scratching your head right now….egg whites are like glue in cooking) to help them adhere a little better. Or maybe I flattened them too much. Or maybe it’s just a technique that requires some practice. I’ll experiment and get it right eventually!

I used Cooking Light’s recipe for Crab Cakes with Spicy Remoulade Sauce. The crab mixture is very yummy, and I like that there isn’t a lot of breading in here. It’s just crab, some panko crumbs, a little mayo, an egg and fresh herbs.

Lots of big pieces of crab in there!

The rémoulade was great. Next time, I’ll cut down the mayo and add more lemon juice. I would have preferred it slightly thinner, I think. And a little more spicy – maybe double up on the Cajun mustard and crushed red pepper.

Remoulade is a fancy name for tartar sauce.

I have several crab cake recipes in my kitchen. I’m encouraged by my first attempt and will definitely make these again. The biggest disappointment is that I couldn’t actually share one with my mom!

  1. Too cute, you are making me hungry!!!

  2. i like the way your crab cakes look, homemade and rustic! damn right delicious. too uniform might make them look premade or frozen

    • They tasted really good, but I didn’t like the photographs. I actually considered trimming the crab meat with some scissors until Dan convinced me that I’m crazy.

  3. Clever! Yes, made me smile and look forward to cooking crab cakes for the first time. I don’t think I would give it a try if I had to cut the crab into perfect circles.

    • You should really try making the crab cakes. I think they turned out very well for my first try!

  4. This looks soooo good. I know what I’m having for dinner tonight!

  5. You are right, “crab” cake is definitely my favorite type of cake. What is so funny, is that when I read this post, I had just returned from a birthday supper where I had selected fried crab claws as my entree. Sadly they did not offer a crab cake. Yours looked perfect!! The big chunks of crab just mean that you bought lump crab meat instead of claw meat, which would have had a finer texture. As you can imagine, I like them either way, but I prefer the lump crab. The recipe does sound very good. Save all of your crab cake recipes until I’m at the beach with you, and we will have a cook off!!

Leave a Reply

