Sweet Cooking

Who Doesn’t Love a Hush Puppy?

In Muffins on April 23, 2010 at 4:27 pm

I am soooo excited! Dan and I are visiting family this weekend in Perdido Key, Florida and Lake Martin, Alabama.

It’s been almost a year since I’ve been to the Gulf Coast, and when I think of the beach, I immediately think of good, fresh seafood. Like a grouper sandwich. Or peel and eat shrimp. Or a heaping bowl of gumbo. I love it all! What’s the best thing to eat with seafood? Hush puppies.

The perfect little hush puppy bite.

I do not really fry foods. There are several reasons. Number one, I don’t have room for a fire extinguisher under the sink, and I’m afraid I’ll burn down the apartment. Number two, it’s not healthy at all. Number three, it’s messy, and who wants to clean up all  that stuff.

Hush puppies are usually fried, but I have a perfect solution. This hush puppy muffin provides the flavor and satisfaction of a “real” hush puppy without the fire/health hazard or mess.

This is from my Southern Living archives (another one that’s too old for the Internet).

Hush Puppy Muffins

(Makes 1 1/2 dozen mini muffins)

2/3 cup corn meal

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 small onion, minced

1/3 cup skim milk

1 large egg

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/8 tsp. pepper

1. Preheat oven to 450º.

2. Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

3. Add the remaining ingredients, stirring just until blended.

Stay with me. I know this is not pretty.

4. Spoon batter evenly into lightly greased mini muffin cups. Fill them about 3/4 of the way full.

Looking better.

5. Bake for 10 minutes or until muffins are golden brown.

Beautiful, not messy and tasty!

This is such a simple recipe. I hope you’ll make these puppies the next time you have seafood. Have a great weekend everyone. Enjoy!

  1. I love hush puppies—but love a little onion in mine–think I will try them that way. “)Cindy

  2. What a great idea to not fry them! Will certainly try these on the family..

Leave a Reply

