Sweet Cooking

Slow Cooked Boston Butt

In Just Good Food on May 3, 2010 at 5:37 am

I asked my dad to “guest blog” while I’m on vacation. He happily agreed. I think he’s trying to prove that I got some of my culinary passion from him! He roasted a Boston Butt (neither of us are sure why it’s from Boston). He bought the butt in Alexander City, Alabama. I hope you enjoy his “guest blog”!

A few weeks ago Richie and I had dinner with our friends, Scooter and Charles. They prepared a Boston Butt that was delicious. I asked Charles for his basting recipe and cooking instructions. He said that it was a recipe handed down from his father which makes it a very aged (and delicious) baste. Until now, the recipe has never been written – only recorded from word of mouth.

Boston Butt Baste from Charles’ Dad

Maybe 2 or 3 cups of white vinegar

1 medium chopped onion

4 chopped celery stalks

1 stick of butter

1/2 tablespoon black pepper

Juice of 2 lemons

1. Mix all above ingredients together to make the baste.

This is the first stage of the baste.

2. Heat baste in a sauce pan over medium heat. Bring it to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer for 20 to 30 minutes. Brush over butt. There will be a lot of the baste leftover. Reserve remaining baste.

3. Take the remaining baste and add 1/2 bottle of ketchup, a couple of shakes of Tabasco, and 3 to 4 tablespoons of sugar. I also added some Worcestershire sauce and more than a couple of shakes of Tabasco. Combine all ingredients. This mixture is the BBQ sauce that is served with the finished butt.

Now on to the butt.

I cooked a 5lb. bone-in butt.

Now as to the cooking….this is totally original to me. I rinsed the butt and then rubbed mayonnaise all over it. Then I gave it a good covering of salt and pepper. I am not sure why the mayo, but I have heard that it allows good adherence of the salt and pepper and keeps the natural juices in during the cooking process. I then basted the butt (see step 2 above) and put it in my Big Green Egg (if you don’t have one, get one). The egg was stabilized at 225º with wood chips stirred into the natural wood.

This is the famous Big Green Egg.

The butt was on the egg for 9 hours, and at the end of the ordeal reached 170º internal temperature. I let it rest for 20 minutes and then tested it. It was delicious. Serve with BBQ sauce (see step 3 above).

Charles' Dad's Boston Butt

When the finished baste was added, I must admit I’ve never had better. I used 3 cups of vinegar, but for my taste, 2 cups would have sufficed. But nice indeed.

  1. larkin, that looks amazing! thanks for passing along an old family recipe.

    • Looks delicious, right? I am replying from a sailboat that is at Norman Island. The BVIs are gorgeous. You and Brian should buy a boat and be captain and chef. Of course, Brian would need to know how to sail.

Leave a Reply

