Sweet Cooking

An Epic Kitchen Adventure

In Bread on May 11, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Before I left for my sailing trip, I made No-Knead Peasant Bread. This recipe is very simple, yet very involved. You could walk a marathon, watch The English Patient, and knit a scarf in less time than it takes to make this bread! I have to say, the results are well worth the it (patting myself on the back right now). This bread is awesome. It’s so much better than store bought or restaurant quality.

Follow the recipe from The Food Network.

This is what I call "stage 1". All the ingredients are mixed together. Now it's time to go into the fridge.

Stage 2 - I refrigerated for 4 hours because I was short on time. This is what the dough looks like coming out of the fridge.

Stage 3 - After rising for 18.5 hours (I was .5 hours late getting home because of a shoe shopping delay), you put the dough onto a floured surface and make it into a ball. And let it rise again.

Stage 4 - The dough has risen. Again. This time it sat for 2.5 hours. Turn the oven on during this stage!!!

After stage 4, you flip it into a hot dutch oven.

45 minutes later - perfecto!

I am in love with this bread.

Just out of the oven with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Where is the proscuitto when I need it?

I cannot say enough great things about this bread. I wish I had the foresight to buy some Italian meats and cheeses to serve with it. I will definitely make this again and again. The 18 hour rise was hard for me because I just don’t have a predictable schedule. I went barely over, and I don’t think the bread was negatively impacted. While the recipe requires a lot of time, there really isn’t a lot of active time. Meaning, you can do a million other things while making this bread. Multi-tasking at it’s best!

Leave a Reply

