Sweet Cooking

In Season

In Fruit on May 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm

I love this time of year. Flowers are blooming, herbs are growing, and many spring fruits and vegetables are beginning to show up at green markets across the country (I am choosing to ignore the fact that it’s 53° and raining in NYC). Strawberries are one of the first berries to peak, and I couldn’t resist doing something special with the box I just picked up. I made White-Chocolate Dipped Strawberries with Citrus Sugar from Bon Appetit.

The citrus really comes through - it's an unexpected treat!

I followed the instructions precisely for the citrus sugar.

Use a rasp grater to zest the lemon and orange.

This is what the citrus sugar looks like.

I did not, however, melt the chocolate as they instructed. I used the microwave. My strawberries were kind of small, so I only used 4 ounces of Ghirardelli white chocolate. I broke the bar into bite-size pieces and microwaved it for one minute at 50% power. It may take a little longer depending on your microwave, but be careful not to overcook. Just take it 10 seconds at a time and you’ll get good results. The chocolate should be smooth and creamy when you stir it.

So cute!

Even if you don’t make this particular recipe, I encourage you to add some strawberries to your diet this week. Put them on cereal. Make a smoothie. Add them to a salad. Eat them just as they are! They are packed with vitamins, fiber, and particularly high levels of antioxidants. Strawberries are a sodium-free, fat-free, cholesterol-free, and low in calories (we’re just ignoring the fact that mine are covered in chocolate and sugar right now).

Chance was not interested in this project.

  1. did you let chance see that Boston butt?

    • I’m sure he would have been on the kitchen counter if he had smelled the butt!

Leave a Reply

