Sweet Cooking

Obsessed.

In Fruit, Lunch on May 13, 2010 at 5:32 pm

I am slightly obsessed with mangoes right now.

Doesn't this look amazing?

Until yesterday, I had never purchased a mango. I don’t know why. It just never occurred to me to do so. I have really been missing out; fresh mangoes are delicious. I bought two for a salad that I made. I found the recipe for this simple Black-Bean Toss in Fitness Magazine.

First a few words about mangoes. They are pretty large – kind of like a softball on steroids. There is a really big pit in the middle. You actually eat the “cheeks” if that makes any sense. I didn’t get too scientific in my peeling and chopping process, but if you’re interested, here is a step by step guide for preparing a fresh mango. I just winged it. There is no reason to stress about it.

I adjusted a few things in the salad. I opted not to use a red onion because I just wasn’t feeling it, and I didn’t add extra oil to the salad. I did make my own tortilla strips as the recipe instructs.

To make corn tortilla strips....just slice strips out of a regular corn tortilla. Toss strips in oil, cumin and kosher salt.

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. These are not burned...that's the cumin.

Now on to the salad…basically you combine all of the ingredients into a bowl.

It should look like this.

I ate this salad for lunch, so I put it over mixed greens and added a little goat cheese. I think this would also be a nice summer side dish for burgers or grilled pork tenderloin.

I was famished at 3PM. Add grilled chicken or shrimp for a more filling salad!

  1. yum, that looks fantastic and is so pretty. that would make a nice side paired with mexican food!

Leave a Reply

