Sweet Cooking

Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream

In Fruit on May 17, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Have I mentioned that strawberries are in season?

Homemade ice cream is one of the little pleasures of life. I can remember making it as a kid at Lake Martin. Back then we had to use those big, noisy machines that required a lot of ice and salt. I can’t believe anyone went to all that trouble! Making ice cream is so much easier now. One of my mother’s friends gave me a Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker that I just adore. I have used it many times out at the beach. My favorite is peach ice cream, but this strawberry ice cream is a close second.

I chose an "egg-less" recipe because it's so much easier and the results are still really good.

The recipe that I used makes a lot of ice cream, and I didn’t have enough strawberries, so I halved the recipe. I also used skim milk. I didn’t have any whole milk, and I made the executive decision that it would not matter (I did, after all, use heavy cream!). The recipe also says to add red food coloring. I have no idea why anyone would add artificial coloring to this perfectly pink ice cream. Some people are just crazy.

Mix all the ingredients together and pour them into the frozen bowl that comes with the ice cream maker.

Turn it on!

30 minutes later you'll have something that looks like soft ice cream.

Once you take it out of the ice cream maker, put it in an airtight container and freeze.

Seriously good strawberry ice cream.

  1. LaVon, your ice cream looks delicious! I don’t know if it is a “Southern thing” or not, but my favorite, and easiest, recipe for ice cream calls for one fourteen ounce can of sweetened condensed milk, 2 cups whipping cream, 1/2 cup milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I don’t believe I have ever used the 2 cups of whipping cream. I just use the nonfat milk I always have on hand, or maybe buy whole milk, or I do believe one time I used one cup of whipping cream. Anyway, I like the recipe because I ALWAYS have a can of Eagle Brand non fat condensed milk in the pantry, and I always have vanilla and skim milk. You can add any fruit or coconut or chocolate, cookies, etc to this basic mixture. I use a Donvier ice cream maker that has an insert that I keep in the freezer, but this recipe would work in any ice cream maker.

  2. good god that looks delicious! i wish i lived near you.

Leave a Reply

