Sweet Cooking

Pizza Night!

In Bread on May 17, 2010 at 5:15 pm

We went out to the beach this weekend to do a bunch of work at our house. We are trying to get it ready for “the season” which begins Memorial Day weekend. Just as an aside, I’m convinced that no house will ever be “ready.” There will always be some repair, some issue, some improvement that needs to be made. I think I’m finally learning that I just need to let it go and not worry about it being “ready.”

Anyway, after  a long day of putting together furniture, cleaning and doing yard work, we made pizza. I went to the grocery with the intention of buying typical bread yeast. After studying the yeast for a minute, I realized we wouldn’t actually eat until about 10:30PM. That would make for 2 hangry (and intoxicated) people. So, I was about to go for the refrigerated dough….

When I saw this!

The back of the packaging says: “Mix. Knead. Shape. It’s easy to make great homemade pizza in just 30 minutes.” SOLD! I’m such a sucker for good marketing.

Sure enough, this is my pizza dough after just a few minutes of mixing and kneading.

Voila! A slightly imperfect round pizza crust.

We do not have a pizza stone, so I use an special pizza pan that I got at Williams Sonoma. It has holes in the pan, so the pizza crust will receive direct heat. This should result in a crispier crust. For us, the crispier the better, but I’m sure this dough would work for deep dish pizza, as well. It’s important to get the pan hot first. I preheat the pan in the oven for about 10 minutes before I put the pizza on it.

Once your dough is in the proper pizza shape, just start adding things. We typically just use a bunch of random ingredients that are in the refrigerator. Today we had a difference in opinions. I wanted to keep it simple with pizza sauce, basil and fresh mozzarella. A margherita, if you will.

This is what I wanted.

This is what we ended up with. We added spinach and mushrooms and a few thin strips of cheese on top.

Despite our varying preferences for toppings, it was delicious! Put your pizza in the oven, open a bottle of wine and toss a fresh salad  while it’s cooking.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

