Sweet Cooking

Two Easy Week Night Dinners

In Just Good Food, Miscellaneous on May 20, 2010 at 2:54 pm

It’s a double blog! Both of these dinner dishes are very tasty and come together quickly.

Steak Tacos with Two-Tomato Salsa

This is a recent recipe from Cooking Light. I made it in a huge rush because I wanted to watch American Idol. I think Lee is my favorite. Crystal is good too, but I think I’m liking Lee better these days.

1. Make the salsa (you can make this ahead of time – there is some chopping involved). I used a green tomato because I couldn’t find a yellow one.

This salsa contains chopped green and red tomatoes, some red onion and avocado, fresh lime juice, olive oil and fresh tarragon.

2. Grill the steak (6-9 minutes on each side depending on how you like your steak cooked). I use a grill pan, but I’m sure a real grill would be fine.

3. While the steak rests, set the table and get your side dish ready. I made corn (admittedly frozen).

4. Eat!

Mango Shrimp Kebabs

This is also a recent recipe from Cooking Light. I made this in a hurry because I needed to catch up on The Real Housewives of New York City. Those chicks are N-U-T-S. Absolutely bonkers. It’s some of the most facsinating yet disturbing television I’ve ever seen. It is horrifying and embaressing to watch, yet I can’t stop.

1. Peel and devein shrimp and thread onto skewer (you can buy shrimp that’s already peeled or do it in advance).

I am buying all the gulf shrimp I can find. Not sure when we'll have it again. Thanks BP.

2. Roughly chop pepper, onion and mango and thread onto skewer. I am not meticulous in the chopping, just try to get them all about the same size.

You could do any vegetable or fruit you like. Be creative!

3. Heat grill and put the vegetable/fruit skewers on first. Cook for about 5 minutes, then add the shrimp. They cook really quickly (2 minutes on each side, max).

4. While everything is on the grill, make a side dish. I made cous cous because it’s ready in 5 minutes. We eat a lot of cous cous precisely because it’s ready in five minutes. It does not, however, photograph well. So you don’t get to see the cous cous. Sorry.

5. Eat!

Leave a Reply

