Sweet Cooking

Sunday Brunch

In breakfast, Just Good Food on May 24, 2010 at 4:33 pm

We had a friend out at the beach shack this weekend, so I made a low-key brunch for us all. And what would brunch be without eggs? Well, I guess that would be pancakes. OMG pancakes are so good! I should have made pancakes. I’m suffering from cook’s remorse. But yesterday I wanted to do a more traditional brunch with eggs and bacon. I made the best little frittatas using a muffin tin. Use Giada’s recipe as a guide, but feel free to mix in your favorite ingredients like I did.

I varied the recipe as follows:

  • I used skim milk instead of whole milk.
  • I used 1/2 cup of crumbled goat cheese instead of Parmesan.
  • I left out the ham. I’m just not a huge fan.
  • I added about 1/3 of a cup of chopped roasted red peppers.
  • I used a full size muffin tin (instead of a mini muffin tin as the recipe recommends) so I baked my frittatas for about 20 minutes.

Whisk up the ingredients that you like and pour the mixture into greased muffin tins.

The muffins will start to puff up in the oven.

I served bacon, fresh fruit and banana bread with the frittatas. Delicious!

Other combinations that sound good….mushrooms and cheddar, seasonal vegetables and parmesan, smoked gouda and shrimp, spinach and tomato, I could go on and on!

  1. you rock, those look incredible

  2. This looks like a great recipe. I love that it cooks in the muffin tins. Also, like you said, the possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

