Sweet Cooking

Tomato Florentine Soup

In Just Good Food, Lunch on May 26, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I love having soup for lunch. It’s so easy to make a big pot of soup on Sunday and eat off of it all week. It doesn’t matter if it’s summer or winter – I’m always a soup girl. My office is so cold that I’ve worn mittens while working. In the summer the AC is cranking, and it feels like a giant freezer. So even if it’s 90° out, warm soup is a welcome meal.

I’ve been feeling a little European lately. I think it’s because I’ve been taking French lessons. Bonjour mes amis! I’ve been eating a lot of Italian meats and cheeses and drinking wine from Provence. I even bought some sandals from Italy! They were purchased at J. Crew on 5th Avenue, but they clearly say “made in Italy” so it counts.  The European side of me decided to make a classic from Florence: Tomato Florentine Soup.

Tres bien!

It’s a simple, light soup that contains tomatoes, spinach, and pasta. Here is my recipe:

LaVon’s Tomato Florentine Soup

One can of diced tomatoes (14 oz)

One can of tomato sauce (it’s the can size smaller than 14 oz.)

A handful or two of fresh baby spinach

Shell pasta (2/3 a cup or so)

1 cup of finely diced onion

1/2 a cup of diced celery

2 garlic cloves diced

Salt & pepper to taste

Saute the onion and celery in olive oil for a while over medium heat (about 7 minutes or until transparent). Then add the garlic and let that cook for about another minute. Then add the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. Let all of that simmer for about 30 minutes. Add the pasta and let that cook for 8-10 minutes. Add the spinach and cook until it wilts. Season with salt and pepper.

Ooooohhh la la

Definitely top the soup with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

I bought this Parmesan at Whole Foods because it was "imported." It didn't say from where, but I'm sure it's some fabulous dairy farm in Europe.

You can also pair this soup with a grilled cheese for a fantastic dinner. Bon Appetit!

  1. Had some in Florence once ( and I don’t mean Alabama) , and that bowl of soup didn’t come close to the eye appeal of this bowl !!!! Viv Italia!!!!

Leave a Reply

