Sweet Cooking

Dining Al Fresco

In Just Good Food on May 27, 2010 at 3:43 pm

We had a wonderful meal last night on our little patio. Outdoor space in NYC is hard to come by, so we’re lucky to have a balcony with room for a small table and two chairs. We eat outside a lot in the spring and summer.

Chance loves it. He drags his little bed out to the balcony and sits with us. It's hysterical.

I made Chipotle Chicken Taco Salad from Cooking Light. Click here for the recipe. I am slightly obsessed with the dressing for this salad. It’s this yummy combination of sour cream, cilantro, lime juice, chipotle chiles and some spices. I altered the recipe a little. I used only 1/3 cup sour cream, and I added 1/3 cup Greek yogurt. I also used more chiles because we like things spicy. This recipe makes a lot of dressing. I recommend using any leftovers as a sandwich spread or dip for fresh veggies.

This is the salad. It's awesome!

For the salad, I improvised slightly. I used black eyed peas instead of black beans. I’m not that superstitious, but my husband is, and he has taken quite fondly to the Southern idea that black eyed peas promote good luck. I feel like we’re pretty lucky, so maybe it works! I used a combination of fresh baby spinach and chopped romaine lettuce. It probably would have been better with all romaine, but I was running short, and happened to have some spinach.

I also made homemade baked tortilla chips. The name “taco salad” is kind of a misnomer unless you’ve got a corn chip involved. I have to say, making these chips was very satisfying. It was a lot more fun that buying chips, and I think it’s a lot better for you too.

Take some corn tortillas and lightly coat each side with spray oil, sprinkle on salt, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Cut them into wedges and put them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake at 325 for about 10 minutes or until crispy. I broiled mine for about a minute at the end.

I just did a small batch last night, but I will definitely make these chips again. I served them in individual bowls with the salad. I crushed some on top of my salad (a nacho salad, if you will), and I scooped up some of that delicious dressing with the rest. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

