Sweet Cooking

The Perfect Summer Cupcake

In Cakes & Cupcakes, Fruit on June 1, 2010 at 2:57 am

These strawberry cupcakes are absolutely to die for.

There is a bakery in New York City called “Sprinkles.” They make one thing: cupcakes. They do not make cookies, scones or muffins. Not whole cakes either. Just delicious cupcakes. I have seen people fight over their cupcakes. Lines form down the street. People pay an obscene amount of money for one cupcake. Children cry when they are gone. You get the point. Sprinkles makes some kickin’ cupcakes. Imagine my delight when I found their recipe for Strawberry Cupcakes.

I reviewed the recipe, and thought, “no big deal, I can make this cupcake.” I was right! You guys have to try this. It’s easy and so, so worth it. I was so focused on the process of making the cupcakes, that I forgot to photograph, but I’ll explain what I did and how it varies from the recipe.

  • I used fresh strawberries. I halved them and put them into my Mini-Prep. If you do not have a Mini-Prep, pause your reading and go buy one now. It’s so much better than a food processor. I have a food processor in storage in the basement. I NEVER use it. The mini-prep is small, easy to clean and does the job. It’s the best $40 you’ll ever spend.
  • I used a hand mixer. I have a Kitchen Aid mixer that my mother donated to me, but I keep it at the beach shack (more storage there). I think my hand mixer does a fine job. It’s very powerful, and I usually get good results.
  • I used skim milk. It’s what I always have in the refrigerator.
  • I checked my cupcakes at 22 minutes. The instructions say “bake until tops are just dry to the touch.” I thought that was an interesting way to put it. My cakes were dry at 22 minutes.

I wanted to eat one right out of the oven, but I restrained myself.

Now for the icing. And let’s all be honest, the icing is just as important as the cupcake.

I used fresh strawberries here, as well. I made the puree in my Mini-Prep (please just buy one). I also used the hand mixer to cream the butter, salt and powdered sugar. When I added the vanilla and strawberry puree, I used a spatula and stirred by hand. The recipe cautions not the overmix, and I was worried that my hand mixer would be too powerful.

The result - really good strawberry icing.

This recipe makes a ton of icing. I had a lot left over. That was problematic since I really love icing. I was standing at the counter daydreaming about my pretend chef life and eating icing out of the bowl for who knows how long. I had to tearfully drench the leftover icing with water. I don’t know when I would have stopped otherwise!

I am getting these cupcakes out of my apartment ASAP. They are really divine. Make them for your next birthday party or summer gathering. Your guests will be delighted!

Delicious! Delicious! Delicious!

Headed to the gym now.

  1. LaVon ,that was great and your sence of humor is well , Rad!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

