Sweet Cooking

Lemon and Thyme Cornbread Muffins

In Bread, Muffins, Savory Baked Goods on June 2, 2010 at 1:21 am

I am a recipe clipper. I get multiple cooking magazines each month, and I pour over them again and again reviewing all of the articles. Finally, when I have so many magazines that they are serving as a bedside table, I clip out all of the recipes that I want to keep and throw the magazines out. Then I tape the recipes into a book (well I have 4 books now). It’s sort of silly because now you can just look everything up on the Internet, but I like my system, so I keep doing it.

This Cooking Light recipe for Lemon-Thyme Cornmeal Quick Bread has been “filed” since last summer. I have wanted to make it for year and finally did so today. I did a few things a little differently:

1. I used 3 eggs instead of egg substitute. What is egg substitute? I don’t think it’s cool any more. Just so you know, 1/4 cup egg substitute is equivalent to one egg.

2. I used a special type of thyme that’s growing in my herb pot.

This is "lemon thyme" - it smells like lemon and has a lemon flavor. Great for all kinds of chicken and fish dishes. And corn bread, too!

3. I made muffins instead of a loaf. I think muffins are more convenient for freezing and defrosting. Just a personal preference.

4. I didn’t sprinkle the pine nuts on top of the muffins before they went into the oven because I wasn’t feeling it (okay, let’s be honest, I totally forgot).

On to the bread making….it’s the same for this bread as any other quick bread:

Mix the wet ingredients: oil, eggs, sugar, thyme and lemon zest and juice.

Combine the dry ingredients: flour, corn meal, baking powder, salt.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients and pour into lightly greased muffin tin (or loaf pan, if you wish).

Bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and brush a little butter onto each muffin. Return to oven for 5 more minutes or until cooked through.

Delicious!

I think these muffins would go really well with a summer vegetable dinner (fresh okra, tomatoes, zucchini). Or serve these muffins alongside a summer soup. empanadas ASAP).

Leave a Reply

