Sweet Cooking

Cake. One Year Later.

In Cakes & Cupcakes on June 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Dan and I celebrated our one year anniversary yesterday!

It’s been a fantastic year. We got the world’s cutest puppy, renovated the beach shack, Dan started a new job, I adjusted my job, we drove the California coast, went to Paris and to Southern France. And, oh yeah, and I started this blog!

It did not take me long to decide what type of wedding cake I wanted. I’ve known since my first imaginary wedding at twelve years old. I chose a red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. I thought the chef did a fantastic job. Not only did the cake look beautiful, it also tasted great.

I love red velvet cake almost as much as my husband.

As tradition goes, we saved the top of our wedding cake to eat on our one year anniversary. I’m not sure who thought this would be a great idea, and it’s really not that appetizing to think about eating a year old cake. But you know what, I never turn down cake!

This cake has been taking up valuable freezer space for a year!

To our surprise, the cake was still great. I had very low expectations, but the cake was moist, tasty and still fun to eat one year later. The cream cheese frosting between the cake layers was still excellent, as well. The frosting covering the outer part of the cake did not fare as well in the freezer. It had a layer of butter cream over the cream cheese frosting to help hold the flowers in place. The butter cream was not good…we just ate around it!

There is nothing better than red velvet cake. Even if it is a year old.

  1. happy anniversary. i’m a few days late, but i am going to toast to you all tonight for having the most amazing, well thought out, kick ass wedding!

    • Thanks! Have a great vacation. I’m going to come to ATL in July at some point. Will let you know.

  2. Happy Anniversary! I am still loving the blog!

Leave a Reply

