Sweet Cooking

The Ultimate Fudgy Brownie

In Brownies & Bars on June 22, 2010 at 5:16 pm

I am typically more of a cookie person than a brownie person, but I decided to give brownies another try. The title of this recipe got my attention: “Ultimate Fudgy Brownies.” I don’t like “cake-like” brownies. I prefer the fudgy kind, so this recipe looked perfect.

Here are the ingredients. I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder but any unsweetened cocoa powder will do. I sifted my cocoa powder.

Just a note about the recipe…evidently there was a typo in the printed magazine. The amount of butter was incorrect. The recipe on-line (access it by the link above) has been corrected. Use 12 oz of butter or 1 1/2 cups. I weigh all of my ingredients when I am trying something new.

The key to fudgy brownies is not to over bake. The instructions say to “bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with small bits of brownie sticking to it.”

This is my toothpick. Perfect!

Shiny and crackly on top, gooey in the middle. Delicious and addictive.

These brownies are to die for. I can't tell you how many I ate before I gave the rest away. Seriously good.

  1. these are so amazing! i can’t wait to get home to eat my second one. i will have to make these to satisfy my craving. delish!

    • They are really easy to make. I love that you only have to dirty one pot! Let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

