Sweet Cooking

Israeli Couscous – Love it!

In Just Good Food on June 24, 2010 at 3:47 pm

I’ve made lots of couscous in my life, but this is my first experience with Israeli (also known as Middle Eastern) couscous. It’s really a great base for a side dish or salad. I highly recommend adding some couscous to your life – it’s as fun to eat as it is to say! You can find Israeli couscous at most markets. They have it at my Whole Foods, and I’ve seen it at a few other places around NYC.

I was inspired by a recent trip to the Union Square Green Market. The spring produce is just unbelievable.

I'm obsessed with the Green Market these days.

Since I had all this great produce, I decided to make Israeli Couscous with Asparagus, Peas and Sugar Snaps from Bon Appetit. I  had asparagus, but I was reserving it for another use, so I just left it out. I followed the recipe other than that omission. This is a very nice side dish or vegetarian main dish. We ate it warm, but I think it would be great at room temperature, as well. Pair this dish with grilled chicken or fish.There is one down side…this recipe requires a lot of pots/pans. So the clean up isn’t super fast. Just wanted to let you know in advance.

Just lovely. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

