Sweet Cooking

When in Doubt, Go with a Classic.

In Cookies on June 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Perhaps the headline should read, "When in doubt, go with chocolate!"

I wanted to make cookies. I was looking at saved recipes and searching on line for something that would satisfy my cookie urge. Nothing was doing it for me. That’s when I decided to make the classic: Original Nestlé Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies. Sometimes you just can’t beat the oohie gooey goodness of a freshly baked Nestlé Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookie.

Follow the instructions for making the batter. The recipe calls for 1 cup of chopped nuts. I used walnuts but pecans, macadamia nuts or hazel nuts would work too.

I was out at the beach shack when I made these cookies. I was supposed to be assembling Adirondack chairs while my husband diligently installed the dog fence. I was panicked that he would walk in and catch me mid-cookie baking. Normally, that would not be a big deal, but these chairs have been on my list for a long time! Since I was totally procrastinating (again), I was looking to cut corners in the time department. I decided to make a pan cookie instead of individual cookies.

Just spread the dough out evenly in a jelly roll pan. Saves a lot of time!

Pop the pan into a 375° oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. Be careful not to burn the edges. By the way, I intended to put one of the chairs together while the cookies were baking, but it took me a full 20 minutes just to get the chair out of the box. It’s crazy the way that thing was wrapped up and tied up and secured with bubble wrap, peanuts and paper. Geez. Back to the cookies…once they are done, remove from the oven and let cool in the pan for about 20 minutes. Then slice them up like brownies.

As the saying goes, a classic never goes out of style!

Leave a Reply

