Sweet Cooking

Fresh Herb Spoon Rolls

In Savory Baked Goods on July 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm

My herb garden died while I was in France. I hoped for rain, but no luck. When I got home my herbs were toast. I think I may have salvaged my sage plant. Time will tell. Anyway, so, I’m back to buying herbs until I have a chance to replant my garden. The problem with buying herbs is that I never use all I buy. I end up throwing away parsley, basil and cilantro every week. So sad.

I had a lot of parsley and chives (that I really didn’t want to waste), so I made Fresh Herb Spoon Rolls. I’m not sure why they are called “spoon rolls”. Maybe because you only need to stir them with a spoon? This recipe is really easy, and I think the rolls are pretty good. They are definitely better than some of the other herbed rolls I’ve made recently.

Start with freshly chopped parsley and chives.

Follow the recipe and dissolve the yeast in warm water. Add in the flour, sugar, butter and herbs.

The batter should look like this.

Put the batter into regular size muffin tins. This recipe makes 24 rolls. Bake for 20 minutes (that’s how long mine took).

Fresh out of the oven - and they smell delicious!

Yum! If you don't love chives and parsley, substitute your favorite herbs!

  1. Sorry about your herbs!
    I didn’t know they were called herb spoon rolls – they look great!

Leave a Reply

