Sweet Cooking

It’s a Heat Wave! Make Freezer Cookies!

In Cookies, Gluten Free on July 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

It’s so hot in NYC. It’s like being in an oven. I am seriously worried about a blackout. I wanted to make cookies today, but I am not about to turn on the oven. First of all, I don’t want to have a heat stroke heat the apartment – it’s already a toasty 85° (our AC is the pits). Secondly, I don’t want to put any more strain on our grid…we’re not supposed to be running any unnecessary equipment during peak hours (no dishwasher, dryer, etc). I’m not even plugging in the hand mixer!

Fear not my friends, I still have an awesome cookie for you. This is a blast from the past. I probably made “Chocolate Oatmeal Freezeballs” at least 50 times during my childhood. I was reminded of this by a friend who just requested the recipe via Facebook. He suggested I post it on the blog. So here you go!

I am not sure where my mom got this recipe, but it's a perfect hot summer day chocolate snack.

Recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Freezeballs

2/3 cup butter (I used 1/2 cup today as an experiment – worked fine)

3/4 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 tablespoon water

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups uncooked oats

powdered sugar

1. Cream the butter and sugar. You can do this with a hand mixer or if your butter is soft enough, just use a spatula.

2. Add the cocoa, water and vanilla to the butter mixture and stir to combine.

3. Stir in the oats

Your batter should look like this.

4. Roll the batter into little balls. Use your judgment on size. You can make them big, small or somewhere in between.

My freezeballs are medium in size.

5. Roll each ball in powdered sugar to coat.

6. Freeze these guys for an hour (less if you’re impatient).

And there you have it…a perfect no bake cookie that is super refreshing on this HOT summer day! And….these are gluten free. Just a bonus!

  1. […] Chocolate Oatmeal Squares ~based off of these recipes   […]

Leave a Reply

