Sweet Cooking

Quick. Different. Healthy.

In Just Good Food on July 8, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Soba Noodle Vegetable Salad

My noodle repertoire used to be limited to the Italian varieties. Penne, spaghetti, lasagna, fettuccine. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I started to venture out into non-Italian noodles. Now I cook with rice noodles, cellophane noodles, udon noodles and the noodle featured in the photos here: soba noodles.

Soba noodles are located in the Asian aisle of the grocery.

Soba noodles are very similar in taste to whole wheat pasta. As a matter of fact, if you can’t find soba noodles at your market, you can substitute whole wheat spaghetti. The results should be similar.

Not your average noodle!

Soba Noodle Vegetable Salad is one of the few vegetarian meals that my husband actually requests. I plan it for week nights when I am short on time. The dressing comes together very quickly, and he shreds the carrot while I chop the red pepper. I literally tear the herbs. I don’t even take the time to chop them. Don’t be nervous by the long list of ingredients in the dressing. If you like Asian food, you probably have most of these in your pantry (sesame oil, fish sauce, rice vinegar). I skip the whole bibb lettuce thing because I’m just not into it. But if you are, then by all means! You could easily add shrimp, chicken or tofu to this dish. I like to serve this salad with a lime wedge and a sprinkle of roasted peanuts.

Leave a Reply

