Sweet Cooking

Creamsicle Cookies

In Cookies, Fruit on July 9, 2010 at 3:38 pm

I unexpectedly acquired an orange this week. We had friends over and they brought some crazy liquor and an orange. I had nothing to do with the liquor (I like to stick to my wine), but I was pretty excited that they left the orange behind. I knew I would find a good purpose for that orange.

This was my inspiration.

I made “Creamsicle Cookies”. I must say, these are a little delight. It’s a great cookie….sweet, tangy, soft.

Here is my recipe:

LaVon’s Creamsicle Cookies

Makes approximately 40 cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup hazelnut flour (aka hazelnut meal – substitute all purpose flour if you do not have hazelnut flour)

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup (two sticks) butter at room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons orange zest (the zest of one large orange)

2 cups white chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 375°. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Combine the flours, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

3. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars.

4. Add the egg and vanilla extract to the butter mixture and beat until smooth.

5. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix until incorporated.

6. Stir in the zest and the white chocolate.

Those little orange specs are the zest.

7. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto prepared baking sheets.

8. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Freshly baked Creamsicle Cookies - awesome!

I think these would be great with coffee or tea. Or ice cream, for that matter. Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

