Sweet Cooking

Quick Fried Green Tomatoes

In Just Good Food, Miscellaneous on July 12, 2010 at 2:18 pm

I couldn't resist these beautiful green tomatoes at the Farmer's Stand.

I had every intention of making Fried Green Tomato BLT sandwiches with these. But, I got lazy and just fried them and ate them without the sandwich. They are so delicious!

Slice the tomatoes - about 1/4" thick.

Sprinkle the slices with salt and pepper and then coat each side with cornmeal. I pressed the cornmeal down on the tomatoes to make sure they were coated really well.

Heat some canola oil and fry each tomato for about 2 minutes per side.

There are a variety of methods and recipes for Fried Green Tomatoes out there. I know a lot of people soak their tomatoes in milk and/or eggs before applying the cornmeal (and/or flour). I am sure those are tasty too…but this recipe is definitely the easiest. Just 4 ingredients are required: salt/pepper, corn meal, tomatoes and oil.

My husband had never experienced homemade fried green tomatoes. Despite his brief residency in North Carolina, he just wasn’t sure what to do. He chose to top each tomato with a slice of mozzarella cheese. Never in my life have I seen a fried green tomato topped with mozzarella (leave it to an Itlalian!). As confusing as it looked, it actually tasted pretty good. I ate my tomatoes in a more traditional style – topped with a healthy portion of hot sauce. Yummy!

  1. yum. i haven’t had a fried green tomato in years. i have a ton of tomatoes to pick, gonna give your recipe a try.

Leave a Reply

