Sweet Cooking

Chocolate-Raspberry Layer Cake

In Cakes & Cupcakes on July 13, 2010 at 4:28 pm

I just loved the dessert recipes in the June issue of Bon Appétit. This Chocolate-Raspberry Layer Cake looked especially good so I decided to make it for an upcoming family birthday celebration. As a first time maker of a fancy chocolate cake, I thought I did okay. The taste was great but I messed up the icing some. I’ll explain later. However, this cake is really fun to make. It’s a good project for a weekend day…there are lots of steps but the result is amazing. The cake has a great chocolate flavor and it is very moist.

The cakes come together really easily. Follow the instructions and you’ll have two perfect chocolate cake layers.

Mix together the dry ingredients: sifted flour, sugar, cocoa, salt, and baking soda.

Whisk together the wet ingredients: buttermilk, eggs, oil, and water. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir (no mixer required for this cake!).

Pour the batter into 9" cake rounds and bake for 30 minutes. I did this 2 days before I planned on serving the cake.

I carefully transported the cakes (in the pans) from NYC to the beach where I planned on icing the cake. You would have thought I was carrying around a new born baby. I was panicked that the cakes were going to get crushed in the car or eaten by the dog. Luckily neither happened. We arrived in Westhampton Beach with 2 intact cakes. Now for the icing….I made some rookie mistakes here.

Basically, the recipe says to boil some whipping cream and then pour it over chocolate. You let it sit for a minute and then stir. You should have a nice smooth ganache. I don’t think I got my cream warm enough and the chocolate didn’t completely melt. I would say it was 90% melted, so there were little chunks of chocolate in the ganache. That was the first mistake. The second mistake was agreeing to go to dinner before I was finished with the icing process. It’s a multi-step ordeal that includes some waiting time, and I just said screw it and rushed everything. I didn’t follow the instructions and the results were still tasty but not as pretty as it could have been.

This is my ganache - you actually pour it onto the cake. Mine should have been smoother. Oh well, it tasted good.

There is a layer of raspberry jam and chocolate ganache between the cakes.

It's a very pretty cake! I forgot to do the dusting of powdered sugar. I can't believe I forgot - I even have one of those little powdered sugar sprinkle spoons!!

I don't think anyone noticed that I forgot the powdered sugar or messed up the icing. Happy Birthday, Renee!

Leave a Reply

