Sweet Cooking

An Appetizer to Impress

In Just Good Food on July 15, 2010 at 4:24 pm

There is a lot to consider when making appetizers:

1. Size matters – one bite. Two bites max.

2. No mess. No fussy or drippy sauces.

3. No utensils. It’s finger food.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Scallops with Romesco Sauce meets all of the above requirements. The perfect appetizer!

I followed the instructions in the recipe. I made the romesco sauce first. This is a great sauce to have in your repertoire. It’s tasty and can be used as a sauce for roasted veggies or as a sandwich spread.

Romesco sauce is white wine, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, roasted red peppers, almonds and a little olive oil.

Next I wrapped the scallops. The recipe instructs you to halve the scallops horizontally. I did not do this because I thought my scallops were already a little small.

I used pancetta instead of prosciutto because I had some on hand. I think prosciutto would have been better.

You put the scallops in the oven and broil them for a few minutes on each side until the scallop and prosciutto are cooked. Remove from the oven and top with romesco sauce and a few thyme leaves.

Easy. Delicious. Impressive.

  1. that looks really good. did the pancetta crisp up enough without over cooking the scallops?

Leave a Reply

