Sweet Cooking

Good For You Blueberry Muffin

In breakfast, Muffins on July 16, 2010 at 10:41 am

My cousin and his wife are coming to NYC to participate in a triathlon. They are nuts very athletic. I know that they are both health conscience eaters, and I wanted to make something for them that would be indulgent yet not too indulgent. I decided on Fine Cooking’s “Good For You Blueberry Muffin”. They only have 200 calories and 6 grams of fat in each muffin. Just for comparison, here is the nutritional information for a few other popular muffins:

Starbucks Blueberry Muffin: 380 calories, 19 grams of fat

Otis Spunkmeyer Wild Blueberry Muffin: 400 calories, 21.5 grams of fat

Dunkin’ Donuts Blueberry Muffin: 480 calories, 15 grams of fat

I hope I didn’t just ruin your breakfast.

The muffins are easy, just follow the recipe. This recipe calls for one cup of applesauce. Applesauce is a common substitution for oil in baked goods because it provides moisture but has much fewer calories and fat than oil. Plus applesauce is delicious.

While I’m making the batter, I grab my applesauce and hit a big, ugly roadblock. My applesauce was spoiled. There was a piece of disgusting mold growing in there. GROSS!

I was bummed because I really wanted to make these muffins. But a ha! I had a cup of Greek yogurt in the fridge. So I added that into the batter. It was a little thick so I added an additional 1/8 cup of oil. I also added 2 packages of Splenda (I needed to make up for the sweetness that was missing from the applesauce). I was totally winging it here.

Despite my unplanned substitutions, the batter looked and tasted okay.

Going into the oven. Wish me luck!

This is how they turned out!

Really moist and tasty (and good for you!) blueberry muffins.

I will definitely make these muffins again using the correct ingredients. Next time, I will add more blueberries. I feel like some of the muffins might not have quite enough. Otherwise, I believe I have found a solid recipe for a healthy muffin!

  1. too funny LaVon!!

  2. Brian and McCall did great in the triathlon. It was surely because of the muffins. I do not think they would have raced as well on an empty stomach.

Leave a Reply

