Sweet Cooking

Frozen Blackberry-Lemon Chiffon Pie

In Fruit, Pie on July 20, 2010 at 10:27 am

During  our recent heat wave, I could not bear to turn on the oven. It was too hot to bake. It was pretty much too hot to do anything. I could not even attend the Bloomingdale’s sale. It was too hot to shop. So, I spent a lot of time researching no-bake desserts.

I decided to make Cooking Light's Frozen Blackberry-Lemon Chiffon Pie.

I followed the instructions in the recipe.

Start by pureeing blackberries and lemon juice in a blender.

After you have a nice puree, strain the blackberries to remove the solids. I was shocked at how many seeds are in blackberries. I considered skipping this step for a minute, but I’m really glad I didn’t. While the blackberries are hanging out, prepare the crust.

This crust is really tasty! It's crushed graham crackers, butter and low fat milk.

For the pie filling, start by beating 4 egg whites and a little salt until foamy. Then combine water and sugar in a saucepan and heat to 250°. Once you have it hot enough, you pour it over egg whites. It’s important to get the sugar mixture hot enough to make the egg whites safe to eat.

Beat the sugar and egg white mixture until stiff peaks form and fold in the blackberry puree. Then pour it all into the crust and freeze overnight.

Garnish with fresh blackberries and mint.

This pie is low in fat and calories (only 166 calories per slice) and very refreshing on a hot summer night! Plus, I love that it’s totally make ahead. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

