Sweet Cooking

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffin

In breakfast, Muffins on July 23, 2010 at 7:40 am

My dad and step mother are visiting from Alabama. I love having family and friends in town. We have lots of eating on the agenda! Last night we had dinner at Pylos in Manhattan. Pylos is a Greek restaurant that I absolutely adore. They have the best Greek salad in Manhattan. Tonight we are having burgers at the beach.  And tomorrow night we’ll eat at Mirko’s in Water Mill (best bolognese EVER). I swear they put crack in the bolognese. It’s that good. I need to butter up the owner and see if I can get the recipe.

Since we’re eating heavy meals at night, I’m not doing much in the way of breakfast or lunch. For breakfast, we’ll have fresh fruit, yogurt and these wonderful Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins.

The muffins are really easy!

Mix up the dry ingredients: cake flour, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, salt and poppy seeds.

Combine the wet ingredients: lemon juice, lemon zest, yogurt, eggs, oil and almond extract.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until combined.

Pour the batter into greased muffin tins - this recipe makes 12 large muffins.

Voila - a great lemon muffin to start the day. This is delicious with a latte!

Have a great weekend everyone! I hope you cook something delicious.

  1. Hope y’all have a great weekend at the beach!!!

    Jane

    • Thanks! The men are golfing today and The women are shopping. Going to be a great day!

      LaVon

  2. Thanks LaVon….been wanting a good lemon/poppy seed muffin…tried one once and it stunk (or SUNK..like a rock!) Been enjoying your blog…even crossed over Bond Street in a cab last week while in NYC with my two DILs. Addie and I said in unison….”looks, it’s Bond Street! Wonder what LaVon’s cooking today!”

    • Hi Beth, I am gald you are enjoying the blog. Let me know how the muffins turn out. I saw some od the photos from your NYC trip. Looks like you guys had a great time. and your grand daughter sure is a cutie! LaVon

Leave a Reply

