Sweet Cooking

Swag Bars (sort of)

In Brownies & Bars on July 28, 2010 at 9:18 am

I like to experiment with recipes. Sometimes I’m really pleased with the results. Sometimes, not so much. Unfortunately, this is one of those “not so much” experiments.

I used this Cooking Light recipe for Swag Bars as inspiration. I adjusted a lot of the ingredients:

  • I used a natural peanut butter. I love organic and all natural products, but I have yet to find a natural peanut butter that I like. If you have a favorite, PLEASE let me know.
  • I used pure sugar cane syrup instead of corn syrup.
  • Instead of using Total cereal, I used Cheerios.

Basically, I think there were two problems here. First, the natural peanut butter just doesn’t taste good. Second, I didn’t crush the Cheerios, so the consistency wasn’t good. My bars fell apart.

Not tasty or pretty!

It looks a lot better with melted chocolate on top.

I think crushing the Cheerios would have made this dessert 10x better.

I considered throwing these out, but I couldn’t do it. I ended up putting all of the bars into a food processor and made crumbs. I think this would actually make a decent pie crust. They would also be good in a blizzard. Why are there no Dairy Queen’s in NYC? Maybe I’ll add these to a homemade milk shake! The crumbs are in the freezer and hopefully I’ll find a use for them soon.

  1. Great idea for reuse of a recipe that went south! As for the north, I firmly believe Dan and I might still be in NYC if there were Waffle Houses there. They are missing for the same reason that DQ is not in NYC…northern food snobbery??? Doubt it, they have gross Jack in the Box there. It’s a mystery.

    • You are so right about Waffle House! I bet I could make some serious cash if I opened a Waffle House in the East Village!

Leave a Reply

