Sweet Cooking

So Hot It Will Melt Your Popsicle

In Fruit, Miscellaneous on August 3, 2010 at 8:05 am

Literally! I read over the weekend that it’s been the warmest March – July EVER in New York. It’s been crazy hot. I know we’re not alone. I heard on the news that Gulf Shores, Alabama recorded a heat index of 125° today. Now that will melt your popsicle.

I just made my first popsicle. I bought the molds at Bed Bath and Beyond. You can buy anything at that store. They were $10. I found a lot of different popsicle recipes on line, but I ended up doing something pretty basic.

I put one cup of frozen, mixed berries into the blender. Then I added one cup of low fat yogurt and 2 tablespoons of honey.

Blend it all up.

Pour the mixture into the molds. My mixture made 3 popsicles.

Put the molds in the freezer for a few hours. To remove the popsicles, let them thaw slightly at room temperature or put the mold in some hot water to loosen it up.

Delicious!

Also, the molds are really neat because they have a little dish at the bottom. So when your popsicle is melting away, it doesn’t fall onto your shirt or the floor. The little mold catches it.

I realize that this is basically a frozen smoothie. I don’t care, I haven’t had a popsicle in a million years and it was fun to eat on the patio. I felt pretty healthy about it too. Fruit, yogurt and honey. Can’t beat yourself up over that!

  1. great idea and healthy too! i came across a popsicle recipe in fine cooking that were more adult friendly. they had bourbon and chocolate in one, another had champagne and peach – a bellini popsicle. i think i will make yours over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

