Sweet Cooking

Chicken Part I

In Just Good Food, Miscellaneous on August 11, 2010 at 8:09 am

I watched the first part of Food Inc. several months ago, and I have been afraid of chicken ever since. Mass produced poultry is pretty gross stuff. Ever since that movie, I have only been buying and eating local, farm raised chicken. I feel better about it, I think it’s better quality and much better for you.

At the Westhampton Farmer's Market, I bought a chicken from Browder's Birds.

I wanted to just buy breasts, but Mr. Browder only had whole chickens for sale. He explained to me that his company was just his wife and him so they were starting out simple. They only sell one product: whole chickens raised on a pasture. You can read their story here. It’s the classic tale of a banker turned farmer.

I also picked up his recipe for "Perfect Roast Chicken".

The recipe says to remove "leftover pin feathers". I have no idea what a pin feather is, but if I see any feathers at all...I'm outta here.

As I unwrapped the chicken, I was extremely worried about the feather situation. Seriously! The feathers should all be gone. I was having major anxiety about this. I had to walk away and get myself psyched up to go back in there. I knew if I found a feather, chicken would be ruined forever and I would probably be on the fast track to a vegetarian existence.

No feathers, thank goodness. I thoroughly rinsed the chicken. Then I rubbed it with olive oil and sprinkled it liberally with salt and pepper. I stuffed the cavity (gross) with lemons and thyme.

I put the chicken in the oven at 425°. This is the part where I would normally tell you how it turned out, but I have to go to work, so you’ll have to come back tomorrow to read “Chicken Part II”!

  1. hee hee. funny about the feathers! glad you didn’t find one. being a vegetarian would be no fun! one of my most favorite meals is a roasted chicken, that i have made. i love the way the house smells when it’s in the oven.

Leave a Reply

