Sweet Cooking

Mocha Chip Cupcakes

In Cakes & Cupcakes on August 17, 2010 at 7:39 am

I just can’t explain how much I love these cupcakes. I made these for a friend celebrating a birthday, and I must admit, I didn’t want to part with all of them! The individual cakes are just the perfect chocolate flavor – I was worried about the mocha coming through too much, but it doesn’t. The mocha flavor just accentuates the chocolate.

Follow the recipe from Fine Cooking. I did everything as stated except I melted the chocolate in the microwave.

Once the batter is all done, it should look like this.

The recipe specifically states not to smooth the batter once it is in the cupcake tin. I had to control every neat freak impulse in my body to not smooth these out.

I had to bake these a little longer than recommended in the recipe. I started checking them at 20 minutes and finally got a pretty clean toothpick at 24 minutes. I would just keep an eye on them. You certainly don’t want to over bake and end up with a dry cupcake!

Fresh out of the oven!

Onto the best part….the icing. As you know, I have a very powerful affinity for icing. I could have just used any chocolate icing recipe, but I actually paid $2.99 for a membership to Fine Cooking to get this recipe. It was a classic situation where I wanted the recipe even more since I couldn’t have it for free! I’m such a sucker for marketing.

I don’t want to publish the recipe online without permission. If you plan to make these cupcakes, let me know, and I’ll give you the recipe share the basic gist with you.

OMG, they are so delicious.

I love the way this icing hardens….it’s pretty and smooth. LOVE IT!

  1. i hate that about fine cooking, they tease you by letting you review a few. seems the ones you really want block you! i wish i could eat one of these cupcakes, they look delicious.

Leave a Reply

