Sweet Cooking

Bread Reinvented.

In Bread on August 27, 2010 at 8:53 am

I’ve been busy the last few days and haven’t had a chance to cook much. I hate to let my four readers down though, so here is a quick post about bread crumbs and croutons!

I hate throwing out food. I really try hard to make every last crumble count for something. I had leftover homemade bread that was edging towards its moldy phase. I took 20 minutes and made some awesome croutons and fresh breadcrumbs.

Homemade Croutons

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Dice bread into cubes (I did large cubes, but you can pick your size).

Your cubes don't have to be perfect...mine certainly are not!

3. Toss cubes in some olive oil, sprinkle with kosher salt.

4. Add any herbs or spices that you like (I added some crushed red pepper).

5. Put cubes in a dish and bake for 15 minutes – I shook the pan halfway through.

6. Once cool, you can store these in an airtight container for a week. You can also freeze the croutons in a Ziploc bag.

Easy Homemade Croutons! So much better than the ones that come out of a box!

Homemade Bread Crumbs

1. Chop up the bread into cubes.

2. Add the cubes to a food processor. I use the mini prep.

3. Turn it on.

Done! How easy is that!

You can add herbs to the breadcrumbs. Try dried oregano and basil for Italian meals. Breadcrumbs can be stored in an airtight container or in the freezer.

Have a great weekend everyone!

  1. great idea. i generally will throw away old bread. not anymore!

  2. LOVE homemade breadcrumbs. Looks great!!

Leave a Reply

