Sweet Cooking

Gingered Lemon Squares

In Brownies & Bars, Fruit on August 31, 2010 at 9:21 am

Lemon Squares are just delicious. I am not 100% sure, but I think they are mostly a southern thing. I don’t see them at bakeries in New York.

There must be some terrible secret to making the perfect lemon square – like a bunch of Crisco or something. I have never been able to make lemon squares that are outstanding. I don’t know why, but mine never turn out like the ones served at bridal showers throughout Alabama.

These are good - a nice solid lemon bar.

There is a small amount of ground ginger in Fine Cooking’s recipe…honestly I didn’t even know it was there. It’s not a prominent flavor at all. If you’re leery, just leave it out. The recipe is not available on-line (for free anyway), and I’m not even sure it’s worth sharing, but if you want it, let me know!

This is the crust before baking. You just mix it up with your hands and press it into a buttered baking dish.

While the crust is baking, make the lemon filling.

When the squares are finished baking, sprinkle the top with powdered sugar, cut and serve!

I gave some of these away to a friend, and she wrote me a note about how much she liked them. I think she was just being nice. If you have a recipe for lemon squares that you love, please send it to me. I would love to try again!

  1. ina garten has a great recipe for lemon bars – don’t know if they are different from lemon squares. the link is below.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/lemon-bars-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

