Sweet Cooking

Peach Ginger Chutney

In Fruit, Just Good Food on September 1, 2010 at 8:50 am

Can you believe that this is a NYC sunset? Wow!

I took this photo from our little balcony last week. The weather was fantastic. It actually felt like Autumn for a few days. I was briefly excited about fall sweaters, boots and jeans. I had to restrain myself at J. Crew! Now we’re just back to being hot, unfortunately.

Our fall tease made for great outdoor dining. On the evening photographed above, Dan and I had pork chops topped with a peach ginger chutney.We ate it with a side of wild rice and a mixed greens salad.

The chutney consists of peaches, sliced ginger, shallots,a little sugar and thyme.

You put all of the ingredients into a pot and let it cook on low heat for 2o minutes.

Everything sort of melts together and the peaches release their juices. It smells amazing and tastes even better.

Once the chutney is ready, take out the ginger slices and thyme sprigs. You don’t want the pieces of tough ginger to stay in there. The ginger flavor has already incorporated into everything (it’s present, but not overpowering – peach is the main flavor).

Our meal was delicious, but I didn’t photograph the pork. I didn’t think it was that pretty. You can find a nice photo and the full recipe here. I need to practice my photography skills when it comes to brown food. I just can’t get it right (other than chocolate, of course). Enjoy!

  1. that sounds delicious and the photo of the chops from fine cooking looks great. i’m with you on photos of brown food – just can’t get it right myself. i can’t wait to make the chutney. bet it would be great with chicken, too!

Leave a Reply

