Sweet Cooking

Lime Meltaways

In Cookies, Fruit on September 9, 2010 at 9:41 am

This is kind of a fun and different cookie. It’s very appropriate for a summer dessert. The lime and powdered sugar flavors make a really great sweet and sour combo. This is one of Martha’s “cookie of the day” recipes. If you’re interested, you can find the recipe here.

Here are the ingredients!

If you follow the instructions, the dough comes together very easily. It’s really simple. Anyone can make this cookie! I did make a few alterations. The recipe yields 10 dozen cookies! My goodness, I surely don’t need 120 cookies around the house! I chose to half the recipe. Not a problem. Once the dough is done, the recipe says to chill it for an hour. I chilled mine overnight.

Slice the cookies into rounds and put them on a prepared baking sheet.

When the cookies are done, take them out of the oven and let them cool a bit. Then toss them in a bag of powdered sugar. I was in a hurry and didn't let the cookies cool quite long enough....some of the sugar got clumpy. Martha's photo is much better!

Overall, the lime meltaways were a success. The taste was great. I would take a little more care next time in my cookie shape. My logs of dough were not quite perfect, and therefore, my cookies were not a pretty circle shape. And, the whole powdered sugar thing didn’t go so well for me. The sugar started to melt and stick into clumps. That was also my fault. I just didn’t take the time to do it like Martha would!

  1. yum, they sound like a lemon wedding cookie

Leave a Reply

