Sweet Cooking

Homemade Applesauce

In breakfast, Fruit, Just Good Food on September 23, 2010 at 12:42 pm

It's apple season!

As promised, I made applesauce. It’s so easy! I followed this Cooking Light recipe. The ingredients are freshly chopped apples, sugar, lemon juice, a cinnamon stick, salt and a little almond extract. I used Macintosh apples because they were inexpensive. This recipe yields a moderate amount of applesauce. If you’re cooking for a family or want leftovers, I would double it.

I chopped my apples pretty small, but if you prefer a chunkier applesauce, by all means, go large.

Once you have everything in the pot, bring the mixture to a boil. Then cover and reduce the heat to medium low.

And there you go....homemade applesauce in 35 minutes.

I think I maybe stirred the pot once while it was cooking. This is one of those few recipes that you can really just forget about and come back to it 30 minutes later. The recipe says to mash it with a potato masher at the end. I didn’t need to since I diced my apples pretty small to begin with.

If you have kids, I’m sure they will love it. But applesauce isn’t just for kids. One of my favorite meals is a pork tenderloin with wild rice and applesauce. In general, apples go great with pork, so give it a shot.

I spooned a few tablespoons of applesauce over some yogurt and topped it with toasted walnuts and flax. Delicious!

  1. yum. what is your pork tenderloin recipe you use?

  2. hey think you can do this w/o sugar and it would come out ok? I want to try making this for charlie.

    • I think it depends on your apples. If they are really sweet, it would probably be fine. If the apples are tart, it would probably be too sour without the sugar. You could try making it without the sugar, and then add a little honey for Charlie. Can babies eat honey? If so, that would probably taste great and cut the tartness.

Leave a Reply

